Messenger Bag

I have to have pockets in my bags to keep me organized.  Cannot live without them. Seriously.  So, when I saw the Messenger Bag tutorial by Kati from from the blue chair, it immediately went onto my Project List!  And there it sat until I could muster up the courage to tackle it…  I got a little confused as to which piece went where, but that was my own brain getting in my way.  The tutorial is very well written with clear instructions and lots of photos.  Here’s how mine turned out.

Image

I’ve been using it as my purse for a few months now.  I did think it would end up bigger, because I was hoping to be able to carry Eli’s extra things on outings so we didn’t have to carry another bag.  But it only has enough room for my purse stuff.  Maybe next time I make one, I’ll make it bigger.

Here’s the back.

Image

And the inside.

Image

Yep, that’s an inset pocket.  Dan actually helped me a lot with that part!  And the clip for keys is beyond awesome!

I started this project on March 23, 2013 and finished it on July 4, 2013.  It took me about 12 hours from start to finish, including all the time it took me to sort out my confusion.  The fabric I used is Bekko by Trenna Travis and I ordered it from Hawthorne Threads.  It looks so professionally made that I was shocked when I finally finished it!  I thought, “That came from ME?!”  I also love the look on other people’s faces when I tell them that I made it!

Leave a Reply

