Shattered Star Mini Quilt

The St. Louis Modern Quilt Guild gave us a challenge to take the Ohio Star and make it modern.  You can read more about the challenge here.  Here’s what I came up with…

Image

I basically took each layer of the Ohio Star and separated them and twisted them.  For the quilting, I did organic straight lines.  This is the first project that I’ve attempted free motion quilting and I have to say I was surprised at how quick it was and so much fun!  Here’s a better look at the quilting…

Image

I made a really quick backing with the leftover fabric I had.

Image

We’ve just redone Eli’s bedroom and he has nothing on his walls, so I chose the colors based on his room (Thomas the Tank Engine and blue), while also keeping in mind that it’s not going to stay in his room forever.  I added a strip of fabric to the back of each corner to hang it up but for some reason one of the hooks keeps falling down.  Dan says there’s a ghost that only haunts the wall.  Um, sure…

The first time we tried it, Eli was napping and it woke him up!  Oops…  So after that we’ve only worked on it when he would be up for a while.  Either we’ll figure out why the hook won’t stay up or I’ll change to a regular hanging sleeve and it will go up in Eli’s room.

Quilt Stats
Name: Shattered Star Mini Quilt
Size: about 45″ x 45″
Pattern: my own
Fabric: Background – The Boo Crew Black Fly Trap  Colors – Bella solids (didn’t get which colors)
Quilting: Organic Line Stitching done by me on my home machine
Started: August 18, 2013
Finished: September 8, 2013
Leave a Reply

