Riley Blake Challenge Mini Quilt

Better late that never, right?

Image

When I first started thinking about what I wanted to do for this challenge, I was going in a completely different direction.  Then, I got bored with that design, and came up with this simple one.  I chose black as the background to make the bright, summery colors really pop.  I also decided to try out flecked binding and I think it really adds interest.

Here’s the back:

Image

I echoed the empty box block on the front and made a larger, scrappy version. This is the first real project I did free motion quilting. Not too shabby for a first go… Lots of room for improvement!

Image

Quilt Stats
Name: Riley Blake Challenge Mini Quilt
Size: about 24″ x 24″
Pattern: my own
Fabric: Background – Moda Bella Solid Black, Empty squares – Bella solids (didn’t get which colors),
          Other fabrics – various Riley Blake prints and solids
Quilting: Free motion boxes done by me on my home machine
Started: December 29, 2013
Finished: February 4, 2014
One thought on “Riley Blake Challenge Mini Quilt

Leave a Reply

