A Quilt for Dan {Finally…}

My poor hubby… He waited a while to get his own quilt. Not because I didn’t want to make one for him, but just because I always had a project with some sort of deadline. When I finally got to the quilting part, I decided to try free motion quilting on my little home machine (Brother) but it was too big and heavy for me to do it with my sanity intact. So I came up with a genius idea. Why not hand quilt it? Yeah, it was brilliant…

Orange & Grey Quilt - Dandelion Stitching Co.

 

Dan picked out the fabric, the pattern and the layout. All I did was stitch.

Orange & Grey Quilt - Dandelion Stitching Co.

Dan uses it every night. I gotta admit, I’ve been known to try to steal it. It never works.

The backing:

Orange & Grey Quilt Back

 

See that little crazy pieced strip between the white fabrics? Dan actually sewed that piece himself from the scraps. He’s just good like that.

Here’s a better look at the quilting and the binding.

Orange & Grey Quilt Closeup - Dandelion Stitching Co.

 

I had a tiny little helper at the park when I took photos. Isn’t he cute?!

Tiny Helper - Dandelion Stitching Co.

I think they like it…

Daddy & Bug Snuggles - Dandelion Stitching Co.

Daddy & Bug - Dandelion Stitching Co.

And just one more gratuitous photo:

Daddy & Bug Back - Dandelion Stitching Co.

He’s only had it for two months and is already planning another one for me to make him.

Quilt Stats
Name: Dan’s Orange & Grey Quilt
Size: about 60″ x 78″
Pattern: “Happy Baby Quilt” by Kristine Lundblad (Modern Patchwork magazine, Spring 2013)
Fabric: all from Joann
Quilting: Hand stitched by me
Started: July 19, 2013
Finished: February 8, 2014

 

 

Leave a comment