A Quilt for my Mom

I told my mom last Christmas (2013) that I would make her a quilt as her gift. Fast forward almost seven months and she finally received it. I had her look through some of my books and patterns and she picked one out (Framed by Camille Roskelley, in her book Simply Retro). Luckily, that pattern was already on my quilty bucket list. Then I asked what fabric/colors she wanted. Her response was greens and blues with a white background. She let me have free reign from then on! So off I went to my favorite LQS, Janie Lou to pick out some fabric and seven months later I had this:

Mom's Quilt - Dandelion Stitching Co.

I had such a hard time handing it over…

Mom's Quilt - Dandelion Stitching Co.

 

I gave this one to Jamie of Sunflower Quilts to do some longarm quilting for me. She did these really cute spirals in a light gray thread. The echo-y look of is my favorite. Here’s a closeup view:

Mom's Quilt - Dandelion Stitching Co.

 

The back is a wide-back Carolyn Friedlander crosshatch, another favorite print of mine.

Mom's Quilt - Dandelion Stitching Co.

 

 

Mom's Quilt - Dandelion Stitching Co.

 

Mom's Quilt - Dandelion Stitching Co.

Gratuitous action shot of my quilt helpers:

Mom's Quilt - Dandelion Stitching Co.

The day after we took these photos, Bug brought his train quilt into the dining room and quite laboriously laid it out perfectly and said, “Mommy, my quilt is ready for you to take pictures!” I kinda love him a bunch.

 

2 thoughts on “A Quilt for my Mom

Leave a Reply

